Fashion Struggles

On Tuesday I set out attempting to find a figure flattering dress or skirt and blouse.  I was aiming high despite my budget of about forty dollars, and a far from perfect silhouette.

I ended up at a popular discount chain store. First I tried a few of the juniors bohemian, long flowing dresses that I used to love.  Now they look like a Muumuu and could possibly result in the dreaded “Are you expecting?” inquiries.

Next I considered going for a bold look to distract.  I tried a black and white blouse flaunting a wild snakeskin pattern and “key hole” chest area with two big plastic rings.  It was not that bad but I reconsidered, not really having the confidence to pull it off.

As much as I adore color, I think I will be sticking with the monochromatic.  I’ll be adding hints of color and fun accessories.  This will have to do, at least until I lose that baby weight (my youngest is 5 years).

What did I purchase?  I opted for a cute and slightly bold pair of cheetah print heels that I will pare with a black skirt, a blouse that is waiting somewhere in the recesses of my closet and some of my own handmade copper hoops.

After the ordeal I stopped by Trader Joe’s and grabbed a huge pot of mums and a bottle of Cabernet.
I tell myself that it is not the end of the world. There are more pressing issues, bigger fish to fry.
However, I know I made the effort to be my best and can only hope to be better for it.

7 thoughts on “Fashion Struggles

Leave a Reply

