Gluten Free Waffles

Yum!  So, on Sunday I was making waffles for the family. I love waffles and decided I need to also make some gluten free for myself.

I had a package of Arrowhead Mills Pancake and Baking mix. Nowhere on the packaging could I find a recipe for waffles and so I checked their website but to no avail.

I searched online and decided to try to work it out on my own and was rewarded with delicious Banana Nut Waffles!

The one thing I’d do differently next time is add buttermilk, just love that flavor. I’m not aware if there is any vegan substitute for it but as I’m not vegetarian or vegan it was not an issue.  I’d also like to try them next time without the nuts and banana just to see how closely they measure up to plain old waffles.

Since they did turn out so well I’m going to share my recipe (keep in mind I’m no expert):

  • 1 Cup Arrowhead Mills Pancake & Baking Mix
  • 1 medium egg (or egg substitute)
  • 1/2 mashed ripe banana
  • dash salt
  • 2 tbsp vegetable/canola or other oil
  • 3/4 cup milk (or substitute, next time I plan to sub 1/4 for buttermilk)
  • 1/4 chopped walnuts (almonds would be good too).

Mix all ingredients well and follow waffle maker directions.  This made 3.5 Belgian style waffles. The images on this post are of the actual GF waffles I made.

If you try these I’d love you to leave feedback, good or bad.  If you have a great gluten free waffle recipe please share in the comments area.  Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “Gluten Free Waffles

  1. I made these this morning. I added mini chocolate chips for my kids instead of the nuts and didn’t have a ripe enough banana so I used apple sauce. They were really good. I posted a picture on my IG feed, @coreysuzanne. Thanks for sharing your recipe!

  2. Thank you! I will try this modified version. I’ve now began using coconut oil, rather than Canola Oil. I’ve done some research on it and feel better using coconut oil or organic butter. Also, don’t touch the artificial sweeteners. Have you tried Stevia? It’s a great natural sugar alternative. I love brown sugar.

  3. my wife is gluten free and we received the arrowhead mills mix from a friend. it was really good. below is my recipe for g.f. waffles. i hope you like it

    2c. arrowhead mills pancake & baking mix
    2 eggs
    4T. canola oil
    1/2c. splenda brown sugar blend
    1T. vaniila
    1 1/2c. water (makes it lower in caloeries)

    1. mix all ingredients with a whisk just until incorporated.
    2. spray heated waffle iron with canola non stick spray
    3. pour about 1c. batter into waffle iron and cook until crispy & golden

    i hope you like my recipe. enjoy

Leave a Reply

